By Nicolas Adekeye


Senator Godswill Akpabio has emerged as the 10th President of the Senate in Nigeria after defeating Senator Abdulaziz Yari in an election held today, June 13th, 2023. Akpabio, a former Senator Minority Leader, reportedly polled 63 votes to defeat Yari, a former governor of Zamfara, who scored 46 votes. This information indicates that there has been a recent election for the President of the Senate in Nigeria, and that Senator Akpabio has won the election to become the new Senate President.


Senator Godswill Akpabio, who was a former governor of Akwa-Ibom and a lawmaker from Akwa Ibom North West, emerged as the winner of the election after a rowdy session at the red chamber. He received 63 votes to defeat his opponent, Abdulaziz Yari, a former Zamfara State governor, who got 45 votes. The clerk of the National Assembly, Sani Tambuwal, announced the result, stating that 107 senators voted.

Akpabio was the anointed candidate of the APC for the seat of the number 3 citizen, but was challenged by Yari, who is also a member of the APC. Akpabio was nominated by Ali Ndume from Borno and seconded by Adeola Olamilekan from Ogun, while Yari was nominated by Elisha Abbo from Adamawa and seconded by Jimoh Ibrahim.


In addition, the senator representing Kano North Senatorial District, Barau Jibrin, was elected unopposed as the Deputy President of the 10th Senate during the same National Assembly meeting. Both Akpabio and Barau had the support of President Tinubu's APC party, which played a significant role in their election victories.


Meanwhile at the green chambers, Honorable Tajudeen Abbas representing Zaria, Kaduna State has also emerged the Speaker of the House of Representatives defeating the duo of former deputy speaker, Idris Wase and Sani Jaji in a landslide as he polled 353 votes while the contenders polled 3 votes each.

(0) Comment

(0) Comment

Leave A Comment

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sponsored Videos Ads

You may also like

You may also like

By Nicolas AdekeyeDr. Philomena Abieyuwa Eriyo, Senior Special Adviser to the APC National Woman Leader on Support Groups an... Read more

 President Bola Ahmed Tinubu Rejects Hon. Dennis Idahosa and Senator Monday Okpebholo’s Candidacy.The President... Read more

By Nicolas AdekeyeA nationalistic socio-cultural group, Oduduwa Development Initiative (ODI) has called on the Economic and Fi... Read more

A recent three-week-long survey conducted in key cities across all six geo-political zones of Nigeria has revealed that past admin... Read more

I have received well over five hundred calls from associates, all wondering why the Edo APC leader, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole is in... Read more

By Nicolas Adekeye A civil Society Organization, Oduduwa Development Initiative (ODI) has called on the President Bola ... Read more